Synopsis

This is definitely a different spin on time travel. How it relates to this blog is complicated and I don’t really know how to categorize it. Edit: I added a new tag just to fit these types of books. Alright, let’s do this.

So, trigger warnings and slightly potential spoilers ahead!

 

You learn quickly that Harry is the result of a rape, and his mother died during child birth. Phew, okay, that’s out of the way!

Harry was adopted by a couple who didn’t have children and I want to say there was a mention of them trying and it just not happening. I guess that would be appropriate for the time period in which he was born, the 1920’s if I’m remembering correctly. Throughout his many lives there are other mentions of couples not having children, but it’s just in passing. Now, one thing that’s a bit…. messy is the concept of preventing people like Harry from being born again. You can probably see where this is going…. killing pregnant women or doing something to prevent a birth. I will say that the most violently graphic scenes are unrelated to that, so ya know… I didn’t think it was too bad.

Overall I really enjoyed the book! It was a cool concept that sparked some fun conversations with my husband.

Leave a Reply

