Because I am into self torture, obviously.

I finally read the much anticipated The Handmaid’s Tale.

And I hated it.

There, I said it. I hear the TV show is better, but it sounds like it’s a lot different from the book. I doubt it’ll end up on my watch list any time soon. It was just so damned hyped up, I was expecting it to be amazing. I won’t go into much detail, but I hated the main character. It’s hard to like a book when you hate the main character.

I also read Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult and absolutely loved it. It was hard to read from the POV of a white supremacist, but it was necessary. Even though it’s full of babies and pregnancies, the story is so much more than that. I forgot how much Picoult’s books can effect the reader.

In between reading these two and a few others that I’m making individual posts about, I am reading Stephen King’s The Stand. Not sure if I’ll make an individual post about this one…

Three new posts will be up within the next week.

Leave a Reply

